Mrs Humanities

teacher . blogger . friend

The Bigger Picture – Observational Fieldwork

2 Comments

This weekend I thought about how I could keep my student engaged in  learning for the last week of the school year. 

They’ve done their end of year exams, I’m leaving at the end of the week and it’s meant to  good weather; so I came up with this Bigger Picture observational fieldwork activity. 

Quite simply the activity involves finding the bigger picture of a number of zoomed in images. Once found students map the location of the bigger picture.

It’s great for developing observational skills. 

You could quite easily amend this activity so students create the map of the school grounds or students take the photos for another group. 

I had originally thought of getting students to draw a field sketch of the bigger pictures but I didn’t feel the school environment was suitable for this.

After running the activity with a group this morning I realised it would also be a great task for introducing year 7’s to map skills. 

Hope you like the idea.  

Author: MrsHumanities

Teacher. Blogger. Friend.

2 thoughts on “The Bigger Picture – Observational Fieldwork

  1. Love this idea, would work well in my “introduction to secondary school” SOL – was going to do a traditional treasure hunt but this might shake it up a bit. Questions and zoomed in pics????

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.